The Dinglehopper

You've Probably Never Heard of Us

Enchanted 2 Moves Forward with Screenwriters

Leave a comment

Enchanted-2007Enchanted is one of those movies that immediately sucks me in and makes me unable to turn away, no matter what scene I come in on.

So I meet yesterday’s news of two screenwriters being tasked with writing a sequel with trepidation. Especially when I saw their list of recent screenwriting credits: Shrek 2, The Smurfs, Are We There Yet?, and Daddy Day Camp. These writers, J. David Stem and David Weiss, are certainly family friendly writers, but do they have the chops to create another contemporary classic? Shrek 2 at least has the rewritten fairy tale aspect in it, and it certainly had its moments.

Will Enchanted 2 live up to the original? Maybe, maybe not, but IMDB reminds me that the original was written by one Bill Kelly, whose only other writing credits include Blast from the Past and Premonition. Yikes. So perhaps I should get excited about these new writers after all.

Author: Erin Perry

I'm a high school English teacher specializing in AP Literature and Film Analysis. I'm interested in most things geeky, including superheroes, vampires, zombies, teen culture, postmodern philosophy, pop culture analysis, and combinations of the aforementioned. Follow me on Twitter @eriuperry.

Leave a Reply

