The Dinglehopper

You've Probably Never Heard of Us

Joseph Gordon-Levitt Working With Gaiman on Film Adaptation of Sandman

Leave a comment

joseph-gordon-levitt-covers-out-october-2013-01Man, who does not love Joseph Gordon-Levitt? Seriously, are there any hold-outs? He can act, dance, write, direct. He’s a feminist. He’s overall adorable. And here’s one more reason to join the JGL-side:

As part of DC Comics and Warner Bros.’s big push-back against Marvel’s box-office domination, JGL is working with Neil Gaiman and others from the Dark Knight crew to adapt Sandman. Still in the script stages, JGL is being set to direct (and maybe star?).

He admits that adapting Sandman is no easy task:

There’s not a script yet, we’re still kind of working it out because it’s such a complicated adaptation because “Sandman” wasn’t written as novels. “Sin City” was written as a novel. “Sandman” is 75 episodic issues. There’s a reason people have been trying and failing to adapt “Sandman” for the past 20 years. (“Joseph Gordon-Levitt on ‘Sin City 2,’ ‘Sandman,’ and a ‘Star Wars’ Cameo)

Considering the creativity of his hitRecord productions, I’m hopeful. JGL and Gaiman together can pull this off.

sandman_text1Furthermore, he has full faith in his friend Rian Johnson to deliver something great in his upcoming Star Wars film(s):

I remember when he told me about it, I felt so privileged because he told me about it before the announcement and I’m just so excited. I’m excited for two reasons: one, I’m excited for my dear friend to have this amazing opportunity, and I’m also excited that there’s going to be these movies. These are going to be such good “Star Wars” movies. He’s going to rock it.

Author: Erin Perry

I'm a high school English teacher specializing in AP Literature and Film Analysis. I'm interested in most things geeky, including superheroes, vampires, zombies, teen culture, postmodern philosophy, pop culture analysis, and combinations of the aforementioned. Follow me on Twitter @eriuperry.

Leave a Reply

