The Dinglehopper

You've Probably Never Heard of Us

Joss Whedon on Feminism, or Why I Love Him

Leave a comment

As a former World of Warcraft raider and guild leader, I still pay attention to the gaming world through side-long glances, though I no longer have the time to actually play games. And so the attacks against women as part of the misguided/misogynistic GamerGate movement has been an emotional kerfuffle for me. Shock, disbelief, sadness, outrage, pride (at the strong responses speaking out against the misogyny). It’s been a difficult mess to sort.

So I rather adore Joss Whedon for putting it all in a truly sensible way in his recent interview with Vulture.

You know, it’s one of those things that’s always surprising. I was raised by a very strong woman, I didn’t know feminism was actually a thing until I left home and found out the country didn’t run the way my mom’s house did. So I have this goldfish, idiot, forgetful thing in that every time I’m confronted with true misogyny, I’m stunned. I’m like, Really? That’s like, I don’t believe in airplanes. It’s like, What century are you from? I don’t get it. So usually I’m shocked, then occasionally amused, then occasionally extremely not amused, but once I get over the shock, it’s very clear that misogyny in our own culture — and not just where they perform genital mutilation and marry off 10-year-olds — runs so deep. When I see this hate bubbling up towards any kind of progress, my reaction is twofold: First, it’s horror, and then, it’s delight, because you don’t get this kind of anger unless real change is actually happening. It is a chaotic time. It’s an ugly time because change is happening. It would be lovely to be living after the change has happened.

Yes. Yes. A thousand times yes!

jossnathanlightsaber

Thank you, Joss, for giving words to your experience that also so nicely dovetail with mine but with more wisdom. This is why I love writers.

Author: Erin Perry

I'm a high school English teacher specializing in AP Literature and Film Analysis. I'm interested in most things geeky, including superheroes, vampires, zombies, teen culture, postmodern philosophy, pop culture analysis, and combinations of the aforementioned. Follow me on Twitter @eriuperry.

Leave a Reply

