The Dinglehopper

You've Probably Never Heard of Us

Anticipating Branagh’s Cinderella

1 Comment

Cinderella Poster

 

I’m going to go ahead and claim that my interest in the upcoming live action Cinderella is purely academic.  I mean, I talked about it in my review of The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm: The Complete First Edition, and that’s certainly scholarly. Of course, I also mentioned the first volume of Marissa Meyer’s The Lunar Chronicles, a YA science fiction reimagination of the story.

Okay, call it a fascination with fairy tales.  Especially new takes on acknowledged classics. Directed by Kenneth Branagh and featuring Cate Blanchett as the stepmother, I’m pretty much all in.  Judge me all you like.  The first trailer came out last week,

Oh My Disney asked Branagh what drew him to Cinderella:

I love contrast in my work and I love surprise and challenge. I had previously worked on Thor and then Jack Ryan. And then along comes a fairy tale, and trying to work out what made a classic like Cinderella resonate so deeply across hundreds and hundreds and of years, and across the movie landscape for decades and decades, was a revelation. I wanted to figure out how you make Cinderella in the 21st century.

I enjoyed his twentieth century update of Hamlet and his interpretation of Thor.  I dig the saturated colors of Cinderella.  And the themes of courage and kindness are perhaps the best focus within the context of a Disney interpretation.

See you in March.  And probably in the fifth season of Once Upon a Time.

steps

One thought on “Anticipating Branagh’s Cinderella

  1. I am totally with you – I cannot wait to see this film either 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

