The Dinglehopper

You've Probably Never Heard of Us

Everyday Cosplay, or Wishing I Was 20 Again

1 Comment

I’m not frequently jealous of today’s youth. They have plenty of rotten stuff to deal with thanks to the mobile and social technology that has taken over since I was their age–you know, in the 90’s. The bullying on social media? Sexting? No thanks. I’ll pass.

TNG-EDC-SherlockBut every once in a while, some new thingamabob comes along that makes me mourn for the youth that might have been. If I had been cooler at the time, or more geeky–you say tomato. And everyday cosplay is one of them.

Now, cosplay in general is something I’ve dabbled in and wished I was more adept at. Sometimes at Halloween–when I put together Dana Scully, Bad Witch Willow, and Adult Buttercup (of Powerpuff Girls) costumes. At the Serenity premiere when I went as Kaylee. But I’m a rank amateur compared to many cosplayers.

But even that is special occasion stuff. Everyday cosplay is a translation of character costumes into everyday (generally semi-casual) wear. So geeky fanaticism + fashion know-how = everyday cosplay. I love the idea of fashion-talented people re-imagining their favorite characters. While I’ve never been fashion-talented, the 20-year-old I once was wishes she could participate in the wearing.

This was never more true than when I saw Nerdy Ninja Platypus’s outfits inspired by Rat Queens. Because these are things of beauty, boss. Check these out. Then visit the full blog post on these masterpieces to get the goods on where to get the goods.

HannahEC

BettyECDeeECVioletEC

Author: Erin Perry

I'm a high school English teacher specializing in AP Literature and Film Analysis. I'm interested in most things geeky, including superheroes, vampires, zombies, teen culture, postmodern philosophy, pop culture analysis, and combinations of the aforementioned. Follow me on Twitter @eriuperry.

One thought on “Everyday Cosplay, or Wishing I Was 20 Again

  1. The candy mushrooms on Betty’s are what make it art.

    Like

Leave a Reply

