The Dinglehopper

You've Probably Never Heard of Us

Futher Up and Further In: SyFy’s The Magicians Trailer

Leave a comment

This is one of the things that came up while we were being surprised with an infant. On Monday, May 4th, SyFy greenlit an adaptation of Lev Grossman’s bestselling fantasy and ordered twelve episodes. The series is scheduled to premiere next year.

The Magicians - The World in the Walls

Despite coming to The Magicians Trilogy late, I’m a big fan. A friendly librarian offered me a proof copy of the third installment and I managed to catch up before the book made it into my hands. We reviewed The Magicians and The Magician’s Land here at the Dinglehopper. Somehow I never got around to taking a deeper look at The Magician King, perhaps the darkest and most difficult of the three.

I’m easy on adaptations. I lost my innocence when Johnny Mnemonic hit theaters and have had sober, measured expectations ever since. Even so, the trailer for The Magicians got me by starting with an actual/simulated copy of The World in the Walls. It’s all the more impressive since these are all scenes from the pilot.

They’ll apparently be telling Quentin and Julia’s stories side by side rather than waiting until season two to get back to the latter. It’s a good choice. And while the characters were, and always are, a little different in my imagination, the actors look good in their roles. Grossman himself is excited, so I’ll go ahead and be excited,too.

“Ever since ‘The Magicians’ was published I’ve wanted to see this story on screen. The people, the school, the other worlds, the magic. I’m so thrilled that it’s finally happening, and I’m beyond thrilled that we found the right people to do it. Get ready; you’ve never seen anything like this.”

The Magicians - Hands of Blue

Leave a Reply

