The Dinglehopper

You've Probably Never Heard of Us

Children’s Book Review: You Look Yummy!

Leave a comment

You Look Yummy! by Tatsuya Miyanishi

You Look Yummy!

…………………….You Look Yummy! at Museyon

This sweet tale about the love between father and son is the first in a tremendously popular Tyrannosaurus series in 12 titles to date, with combined sales in excess of 3 million copies in Japan, China, Korea, Taiwan and France. A long, long time ago, a baby Ankylosaurus is born on a volcano erupting ground. As the little Ankylosaurus begins wandering around, a big Tyrannosaurus comes along. He is about to pounce when the baby cries out, “Daddy!” and grabs onto his leg. The baby thinks the Tyrannosaurus is his father, so as not to disappoint the little one, he takes on the task of raising a baby Ankylosaur. The two develop ever stronger bonds of love, but soon comes the day when they must part. Highlighting the importance of family, this sweet picture book celebrates the love between father and son.

I held off reviewing this one until I could read it with our preschooler. More and more I’m convinced that the opinion of the target audience is way more important than mine. There are a lot of beautiful children’s books with clever rhymes and interesting thoughtful stories that attract grandparents and critics. We have some of them. Some are great. Others sit on the shelf like symbols, waiting to be recognized by some other parent who read the same best-of list.

What I’m saying is that if it doesn’t resonate with our children, then it scarcely matters how great I think it is. Take Goodnight Moon. It’s mostly nonsense. And everyone loves it from when they were kids. Even me.

So I read You Look Yummy! with ours. I explained that it was a book I wanted to read together and that this was a favor. The digital galley had an issue that crops up with visual material sometimes. Two page spreads don’t parse well when they’re split. I got a few confused questions and even a real “what’s happening.” But, the story was generally clear.

An anklyosaurus hatches amidst a volcanic eruption, separated from his parents. A tyrannosaur comes along intending to eat him and the baby mistakes him for his daddy. The unmitigated love of the little lizard overcomes the larger one and they look out for one another.

Yummy this is ramming

Our preschooler was engaged by some familiar beats: the worried dad, the kid who wants to help, the desire to imitate and emulate, and the sort of strangeness a parent’s real skill set can have for the young. Empathetic kids will swell and shrink with the story.

The book ends with the tyrannosaur sending the kid to the full grown anklyosauruses, presumably his parents, after sharing everything he knows. This is done through trickery and it’s kind of sad. This is the part where  the digital pagination probably interrupted the narrative the most. after some rapid back and forth the action was obvious. And disappointing.

Our preschooler asked for two more books as a mental palate cleanser. I think the message conflicted with the one in Dinosaur Train. In that show, Buddy, a tyrannosaur adopted by a family of pteranodons chooses to stay with him when given the opportunity to live with other apex predators.

I reckon the print copy would soften the blow, but the book isn’t a bedtime story. It’s a discussion prompt. Why did he do that? Where is he going? Our preschooler loves drilling down into these questions even when they’re challenging and we’re not mendacious enough to be sly. If yours is the same, this is the book for you.

Recommended for fans of Where the Wild Things Are, The Giving Tree, and The Monster at the End of this Book.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s